AARC proudly recognizes the outstanding contributions of its professional and graduate student members through its annual awards program. Each year, the organization bestows four awards on deserving members based on their scholarly pursuits and/or dedicated service to the profession.

Donald Hood Student Research Grant

AARC continues its commitment to excellence in scholarship and clinical practice through the awarding of the Donald Hood Student Research Grant. This annual grant program is designed to recognize and honor those who are seeking to complete research investigations that show promise for outstanding contributions to the counseling profession.

The recipient of the Donald Hood Student Research Grant will receive a cash award up to $500.00, a certificate of recognition, a free ticket for the AARC annual award luncheon, and acknowledgement of the award in AARC's various news outlets (NewsNotes and on the website).

Download a copy of the Donald Hood Student Research Grant Application Procedures.

Previous Award Recipients:

2011 Janeen Miller, Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi  
2010 Kelly Emelianchik, Old Dominion University  
2009 L. Marinn Pierce, University of Tennessee-Knoxville  
2008 Erin Mason, Georgia State University  
2007 Laura Welfare, University of North Carolina at Greensboro  
2006 Amy Land, Georgia State University  
2005 Tamba-Kuii Bailey, Georgia State University  
2004 Danica Hays, Georgia State University  
2003 Randy Watts, University of North Carolina at Greensboro and Reginald Tucker, Harvard School of Public Health
2002 Hung-Bin Sheu, University of Maryland  
2001 Simone Lambert, University of North Carolina at Greensboro and Carl Sheperis, University of Florida

Back to Top

AARC Journal Editor's Research Awards

Each year, the MECD Editor, CORE Editor, and the AARC Member-at-Large for Awards have the responsibility for selecting the Journal Editor's Research Awards. These awards are given to the author or authors of the manuscripts deemed to have made the greatest contribution to the professional literature.

Authors are eligible for the AARC/MECD Patricia B. Elmore Award for Outstanding Research in Measurement and Evaluation if their manuscript was published in Measurement and Evaluation in Counseling and Development from July 1 to June 30 of the previous year. Recipient(s) will receive a cash stipend of $500.00, a plaque commemorating the award, and acknowledgement at the AARC annual awards meeting.

Authors are eligible for the AARC/CORE Outstanding Outcome Research Award if their manuscript was published in Counseling Outcome Research and Evaluation from July 1 to June 30 of the previous year. Recipient(s) will receive a plaque commemorating the award and acknowledgement at the AARC annual awards meeting.

Back to Top

Emerging Scholars Award

AARC strives to facilitate the professional growth and excellence of graduate students and new professionals in counseling and education. The AARC Emerging Scholars Program was developed to

  • promote future leaders in assessment and research;

  • allow scholars to participate in AARC activities;

  • facilitate presentation opportunities at a national conference; and

  • provide mentorship and networking opportunities.

The recipient of the Emerging Scholar Award will receive a complimentary AARC conference registration, be recognized at the National Research and Assessment Conference, and be featured in a future issue of NewsNotes.

Previous Award Recipients:


Stephen Lenz, University of Memphis and
Christina Hamme Peterson, Rider University


Jacqueline Swank, University of Florida and
Gulsah Kemer, University of North Carolina at Greensboro

Download a copy of the 2013 Emerging Scholar Award application.

Back to Top

Exemplary Practices Award

AARC, through its Exemplary Practices Award, recognizes persons and programs which best exemplify the mission of the AARC. By annually giving this award to a person or program, AARC seeks to acknowledge the rendering of important service in assessment or examples of outstanding assessment practice which have significance for the counseling profession.

Nominees are not required to be members of AARC or ACA. Members of the Executive Council and the Exemplary Practices Award Committee and their programs are not eligible to be nominated during their terms of service.

If you would like to nominate yourself or a deserving colleague, you can download the EPA Nomination Procedures.

Previous Award Recipients:


Award Not Given



Award Not Given



Award Not Given



Award Not Given



Bradley Erford

Testing and Assessment Advocacy and Advancement (Lifetime achievement)


Award Not Given



David Jepsen

Career Development and Career Decision-Making (Lifetime achievement)


Award Not Given



Phil Lewis and Dave Rivkin

O*Net Career Exploration Tools


Patricia Elmore and colleagues

Competencies in Assessment and Evaluation for School Counselors


Thomas Harrington and Arthur O'Shea

Harrington/O'Shea Career Decision Making System-Revised


Joint Committee on Testing Practices

Rights and Responsibilities of Test Takers: Guidelines and Expectations

Back to Top



Being a member of AARC has provided me with opportunities to network with talented researchers, who have provided support and encouragement in my development as a counselor educator and researcher.

Jacqueline Swank