About Us

The mission of AARC is to promote and recognize excellence in assessment, research, and evaluation in counseling.

Our Purpose

The Association for Assessment and Research in Counseling (AARC) is an organization of counselors, educators, and other professionals that advances the counseling profession by promoting best practices in assessment, research, and evaluation in counseling.

AARC is positioned to fulfill six fundamental purposes for counselors, clients, and other stakeholders:

  • Professional Development: to promote  professional development which enhances  competence in assessment, research, and  evaluation
  • Professionalization: to advance the  professionalization of counseling through the  appropriate use of assessment, research, and  evaluation
  • Research and Knowledge: to develop and  disseminate knowledge regarding assessment,  research, and evaluation procedures used in  counseling
  • Human Development: to advocate for optimal  human development through culturally competent  assessment, research, and evaluation practices
  • Public Awareness: to support public policies and  legislation that advance the ethical use of  assessment, research, and evaluation
  • Collaboration: to enhance communication and  collaboration among AARC, leadership within ACA and its divisions, and other professional  organizations that address common, assessment,  research, and evaluation concerns.

2022-2023 AARC Executive Council

Madeline Clark, Ph.D., The University of Toledo

Stephanie Crockett, Ph.D., James Madison University

Past President
Elizabeth Prosek, Ph.D., Pennsylvania State University

Andrew Burck, Ph.D.,  Marshall University

Shaywanna Harris-Pierre, Ph.D., Texas State University

Member-at-Large Membership
Patrick Mullen, Ph.D., College of William & Mary

Member-at-Large Publications
Amanda La Guardia, Ph.D., University of Cincinnati

Member-at-Large Awards
Amanda Giordano, Ph.D., University of Georgia

ACA Governing Council Representative
Danica Hays, Ph.D., University of Nevada at Las Vega

Graduate Student Representative
Nancy Valverde (2021-2023), Pennsylvania State University

Dinisha Paul (2022-2024), The University of Toledo

Learn more about how you can become a member of AARC