Exemplary Assessment and Evaluation Practices Award: Professional

Award Details

With this award, AARC seeks to acknowledge the rendering of meaningful assessment and/or evaluation practices with particular significance for the counseling profession. The Exemplary Assessment and Evaluation Practices Award goes to a professional member who has shown a dedication to the mission of AARC through the use of rigorous assessment and/or evaluation practices. Specifically, awardees should have contributed to the advancement of the counseling field through the use of assessment instruments to inform practice, development of new assessment instruments, application of program evaluation strategies, advocacy efforts related to the use of assessments, or projects that include community-based evaluation and/or needs assessments. This award acknowledges best practices in the use of assessments and/or evaluation efforts that have made significant contributions to the field of counseling. Nominees are required to be members of AARC and ACA.

If you would like to nominate yourself or a deserving student or colleague for one of these awards, please send your nomination to Amanda Giordano, MAL- Awards, ([email protected]) by June 1, 2024.


To apply, please submit the following materials:

  • A vita or resume for individual being nominated.
  • A nomination letter outlining how the nominee meets the award criteria and why the nominee is representative of the spirit of the award (in the nomination letter, confirm the nominee is a member of AARC in good standing).
  • For the two professional awards (Exemplary Research Practices Award and Exemplary Assessment and Evaluation Practices Award only), one additional letter of support is required. (No additional letter of support is needed for the student awards).

All documents should be combined into one PDF file and emailed to [email protected] by June 1, 2024.

Previous Award Recipients

  • 2022 Sandra Logan-McKibben, Sacred Heart University