Emerging Leaders Program

Award Details

The AARC Emerging Leaders Program was designed to provide graduate counseling students and new professionals early in their careers with cultivating experiences that support leadership skill and competency development.  Diverse opportunities for Emerging Leaders (ELs) include actively participating in AARC Executive Board meetings, serving on a committee and/or task force, engaging in projects of interest and presenting at conferences, receiving mentorship, building professional networks, and gaining exposure to the responsibilities associated with fulfilling elected leadership positions. Applicants who have exhibited exceptional leadership potential and who hold a willingness to serve AARC in a variety of roles for the betterment of the counseling profession and the consumers of counseling services are sought.

Emerging Leaders will receive free conference registration to the AARC Conference for the year they serve and be recognized at the awards ceremony.

Interested applicants should email our EL Co-Chairs Dr. Charmayne Adams at: [email protected] or Dr. Emelianchik-Key at: [email protected] for required materials or more information.
Submit the required documents no later than June 1st.

Previous Award Recipients

Graduate Student

  • 2023
    Yun-Ju Huang, Texas A&M University Corpus Cristi
    Linzy Andre, Syracuse University
  • 2022
    Taewon Kim, University of Central Florida
    Megan Whitbeck, University of North Carolina at Greensboro
  • 2021
    Taylor Irvine, Florida Atlantic University
    Olivia Lewis, University of South Carolina
  • 2020
    S. Todd Bolin, The University of North Carolina at Charlotte
    Kyndel Tarziers, Georgia State University
  • 2019
    Jordan Austin, The University of North Carolina at Greensboro
    Fredrica Dennis, Palo Alto University
  • 2018
    Sara Andrews, University of North Carolina at Charlotte
    Julia Dell’Aquila, Texas A & M University – Corpus Christi
  • 2017
    Marsha Rutledge, Virginia Commonwealth University
    Michelle Mitchell, The University of Central Florida
  • 2016
    Rachel Henesy, University of Florida
    Kyle Hogan, The College of New Jersey

New Professional

  • 2023
    Haley Ault, University of Tennessee Knoxville
    Adriana Labarta, Florida Atlantic University
  • 2022
    Angelica Galvan, California State University at Northridge
    Shreya Vaishnav, Palo Alto University
  • 2021
    Zach Budesa, University of Tennessee
    Matthew Nice, Indiana University of Pennsylvania
  • 2020
    Nayoung Kim, New York Institute of Technology
    Jyotsana Sharma, Oklahoma State University
  • 2019
    Charmayne Adams, University of Nebraska at Omaha
    Agnes Luo, University of North Texas
  • 2018
    Na Mi Bang, University of Central Arkansas
    Amanda Rumsey, Clemson University
  • 2017
    Jaimie Stickl, Denver Public Schools
    Michael Schmit, The University of North Texas